Reports and Studies

INDEX 

 

 

EXPORT BASICS

EXPORT BASICS

 » TOP PAGE

TRADE AGREEMENTS

TRADE AGREEMENTS

» TOP PAGE

CUSTOMS

CUSTOMS

THE FSVP DEMYSTIFIED (FOREIGN SUPPLIER VERIFICATION PROGRAM)

The Foreign Supplier Verification Program (FSVP) is a new law in effect since May 30, 2017. 
More details »

 » TOP PAGE

UNITED STATES FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION (FDA)

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) released a few documents that could be of interest to Canadian companies exporting to the United States.

Compliance date Guide

On October 23, 2017, the FDA released a new guide to help farmers and food manufacturers determine when they need to comply with provisions of the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA). On the same page, the agency also released a visual breakdown of key FSMA dates between 2015 and 2024.

Of particular interest for the majority of Canadian exporters are the compliance dates for U.S. importers under the Foreign Supplier Verification Program for Food Importers (FSVP). If applicable, we encourage Canadian exporters to identify the upcoming compliance date and to contact their U.S. importer ahead of time to ensure they are ready for these new requirements.

Guidance

On October 19, 2017, the FDA issued guidance documents intended for facilities that may be subject to the Preventive Controls for Animal Food rule or the Preventive Controls for Human Food rule. The guidance is intended for domestic and foreign facilities that are required to register as food facilities under the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act because they manufacture, process, pack, or hold animal food for consumption in the U.S.

The first guidance document contains information to help these facilities determine whether they need to comply with the current good manufacturing practice requirements for animal food established under in the Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Hazard Analysis, and Risk-Based Preventive Controls for Food for Animals final rule published on September 17, 2015 (Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations (21 CFR) part 507).

The second draft guidance document is intended to help establishments and facilities subject to 21 CFR part 117 (Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Hazard Analysis, and Risk-Based Preventive Controls for Human Food) or 21 CFR part 507 to determine whether they are "solely engaged" in certain activities. Establishments and facilities "solely engaged" in certain activities are exempt from some or all of the requirements in parts 117 or 507.

On November 3, 2017, the FDA released guidance for persons who participate in "co-manufacturing" agreements in Supply-Chain Program Requirements. Under the FSVP,  the FDA established that an importer that is a receiving facility is deemed to be in compliance with most of the requirements of the FSVP regulation for a food it imports, as long as the importer is in compliance with the supply-chain program requirements of part 117 or part 507 for that food. When an importer that is a receiving facility is in compliance with the supply-chain program requirements, the only requirement of the FSVP regulation that applies is the requirement for identification of the importer at entry. We encourage Canadian companies who co-manufacture products in the U.S. to review this new guidance.

» TOP PAGE

LABELING AND REGULATIONS

FOOD LABELING AND REGULATIONS

FOOD LABELING MODERNIZATION

In December 2016, Health Canada published amendments to the food labelling regulations in Canada Gazette Part II.

Thus, as of December 14, 2021, prepackaged food products being manufactured or imported, and foods prepackaged in store and sold by retailers, must comply with the new labelling requirements.

The Export Group offers a series of four publications to assist you in this major change. We encourage you to adapt this plan to your business reality.

 

LABELLING : Health Canada’s new requirements

» TOP PAGE

MARKET TRENDS

MARKET TRENDS

Other researchs and guides:

» TOP PAGE

DISTRIBUTION CHANELS

DISTRIBUTION CHANELS

  •  

 

BUYERS DIRECTORIES

BUYERS DIRECTORIES

» TOP PAGE

ACTIVITY CALENDAR

ACTIVITY CALENDAR

» TOP PAGE

Rapports et études

.

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

.

 

ABC DE L'EXPORTATION

ABC DE L'EXPORTATION

» haut de la page

 

ACCORDS COMMERCIAUX 

ACCORDS COMMERCIAUX

» haut de la page

 

Bilan des activités

BILAN ANNUEL DES ACTIVITÉS

» haut de la page

 

DOUANES

DOUANES

LE FSVP DÉMYSTIFIÉ (FOREIGN SUPPLIER VERIFICATION PROGRAM

Le programme FSVP (Foreign Supplier Verification Program) est une nouvelle loi en vigueur depuis le 30 mai 2017.) 
En savoir plus »

 

FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION DES ÉTATS-UNIS (FDA)

La Food and Drug Administration (FDA) des États-Unis a publié des documents qui pourraient intéresser les entreprises canadiennes qui exportent des produits aux États-Unis.
 

Guide des dates de conformité

Le 23 octobre 2017, la FDA a publié un nouveau guide pour aider les agriculteurs et les fabricants de produits alimentaires à déterminer les cas où ils doivent se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi sur la modernisation de la salubrité des aliments (LMSA). Sur la même page, l'organisme a aussi inséré un tableau des dates importantes de la LMSA entre 2015 et 2024. Les dates de conformité que devront respecter les importateurs américains en vertu du programme de vérification des fournisseurs étrangers pour les importateurs d'aliments (PVFE) revêtent un intérêt particulier pour la majorité des exportateurs canadiens. Le cas échéant, nous invitons les exportateurs canadiens à indiquer la date de conformité à venir et à communiquer avec leur importateur américain à l'avance pour assurer qu'ils sont prêts pour ces nouvelles exigences.
 

Orientation

Le 19 octobre 2017, la FDA a publié des documents d'orientation destinés aux installations qui pourraient être assujetties aux mesures préventives quant à l'alimentation animale ou aux mesures préventives pour les aliments destinés à l'alimentation humaine. L'orientation est destinée aux installations du pays et de l'étranger qui doivent s'inscrire en tant qu'installations alimentaires en vertu de la Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act parce qu'elles fabriquent, transforment, emballent ou entreposent des aliments pour animaux aux fins de consommation aux États-Unis.
 
Le premier document d'orientation contient de l'information pour aider ces installations à déterminer si elles doivent se conformer aux exigences actuelles relatives aux bonnes pratiques de fabrication pour les aliments pour animaux établies en vertu des bonnes pratiques de fabrication utilisées actuellement, de l'analyse des dangers et des mesures préventives axées sur les risques pour les aliments destinés aux animaux publiés le 17 septembre 2015 (titre 21 du Code of Federal Regulations (CFR 21), partie 507).
 
Le deuxième document d'orientation a pour objectif d'aider les établissements et les installations assujettis au CFR 21, partie 117 (bonnes pratiques de fabrication utilisées actuellement, analyse des dangers et mesures préventives axées sur les risques pour l'alimentation humaine) ou au CFR 21, partie 507 à déterminer s'ils sont « exclusivement engagés » dans certaines activités. Les établissements et les installations « exclusivement engagés » dans certaines activités sont dispensés de satisfaire à certaines ou à toutes les exigences des parties 117 ou 507.
 
Le 3 novembre 2017, la FDA a publié une directive à l'intention des personnes qui participent à des ententes de « cofabrication » dans le cadre des exigences du programme de chaîne d'approvisionnement. Conformément au PVFE, la FDA a établi qu'un importateur qui est une installation de réception est réputé se conformer avec la plupart des exigences du règlement sur le PVFE pour l'aliment qu'il importe, à condition que cet importateur satisfasse aux exigences du programme de chaîne d'approvisionnement de la partie 117 ou de la partie 507 pour cet aliment. Lorsqu'un importateur qui est une installation de réception se conforme aux exigences du programme de chaîne d'approvisionnement, la seule exigence du règlement sur le PVFE qui s'applique est l'exigence d'identification de l'importateur à l'entrée. Nous invitons les entreprises canadiennes qui cofabriquent des produits aux États-Unis à examiner cette nouvelle directive.
 
ÉTIQUETAGE ET RÉGLEMENTATION

ÉTIQUETAGE DES ALIMENTS ET RÉGLEMENTATION

SÉRIE SUR LA MODERNISATION DE L'ÉTIQUETAGE

 
En décembre 2016, Santé canada a publié, dans la Gazette II, une mise à jour majeure de la réglementation concernant l’étiquetage des aliments au Canada.
 
Ainsi, à partir du 14 décembre 2021, les aliments préemballés (fabriqués, importés, vendus au détail et par le détaillant) devront être en conformité avec les nouvelles exigences publiées en matière d’étiquetage.
 
Le Groupe Export vous propose une série de quatre publications afin de vous accompagner dans ce changement majeur. Vous pourrez adapter ce plan à votre réalité en entreprise.
 
 

ÉTIQUETAGE : Les nouvelles exigences de Santé Canada

 

» haut de la page

 

TENDANCES SUR LES MARCHÉS

TENDANCES SUR LES MARCHÉS

Autres études et guides:

» haut de la page

 

CANAUX DE DISTRIBUTION

CANAUX DE DISTRIBUTION

  •  

» haut de la page

 

RÉPERTOIRES D'ACHETEURS

RÉPERTOIRES D'ACHETEURS

» haut de la page

 

CALENDRIER ACTIVITÉS

CALENDRIER DES ACTIVITÉS

» haut de la page

 

Communiqués

COMMUNIQUÉS

» haut de la page